Beans iD Verification for Shopify

Beans iD Verification

Verify customers & offer gated discounts in 100+ countries

View on App Store

Rating

3.7

feedback

9

Reviews

chart

#9,264

Shopify

Reviews Over Time

App Ranking

Time spent using app

  • Less than an hour
    0%
  • Less than a day
    0%
  • Less than a month
    11%
  • Less than a year
    78%
  • More than a year
    0%

Reviews Summary

The reviews for the Student Beans Shopify app are mixed, with both positive and negative feedback. Positive aspects include easy setup, seamless sign-up process, and helpful support from the Student Beans team. Users appreciate the app for bringing real students to their websites and facilitating student discounts. However, negative themes include issues with the free trial starting before account verification, high commission charges, lack of communication options, and unprofessional user experience. Some users also expressed disappointment with the app's performance in driving traffic and conversions, questioning its value for businesses targeting the student demographic.

Highlights

Easy setup and seamless sign-up process
Helpful support from the Student Beans team
Issues with free trial and account verification
High commission charges and lack of communication options
Disappointment with app's performance in driving traffic and conversions

Rating Breakdown

  • 5
    56% (5 ratings)
  • 4
    11% (1 ratings)
  • 3
    0% (0 ratings)
  • 2
    11% (1 ratings)
  • 1
    22% (2 ratings)
Review RSS Feed Review RSS Feed

All reviews

5 / 5 Share

March 25, 2024

Using app

--

Total reviews

5

Average rating

5.0

5 / 5 Share

Dec. 12, 2023

Great app and simple to set up. Working with the Student Beans Shopify team has been great. They took the time to jump on a video call and to work with us to best optimise our promotion to ensure success.

Using app

About 1 month

Total reviews

3

Average rating

5.0

2 / 5 Share

June 18, 2023

Trial starts before account gets verified so the free trial doesn't actually give u 7 days which is a little frustrating, in addition you can only communicate with them via email, so you are left waiting and hoping they will actually respond / reply to your email, for me personally not a great start but I'm going to continue to progress to see if there is any value in accessing the lead generation side of the platform, although after reading some of the reviews this seems to be over sold / promised and the actual conversions aren't anything special - is it worth the money and effort ??? decision is out on this, if I am able to update my review in a couple of weeks I'll report back

Using app

3 days

Total reviews

1

Average rating

2.0

Developer Reply

Thank you for sharing your feedback and I'm so sorry that your experience of our Shopify app didn't meet your expectations. We reached out to you as soon as we received this review to try and dig a little deeper into your frustrations and we are still keen to get these resolved for you. We continually review feedback and look at ways to improve our product to fit the needs and wants of our brand partners. Based on your feedback we are now looking to extend the free trial period to 14 days to ensure all our brand partners can truly make the most of this benefit. We will reach out to let you know when the free trial has been extended. Thank you for bringing your frustrations to our attention.

1 / 5 Share

May 31, 2023

I recently had the unfortunate experience of using the Student Beans app, and I must say that my overall impression was extremely disappointing. From the lack of support to the abysmal results, I found myself questioning the effectiveness of this platform for promoting my offer to students. Here's a detailed review of my frustrating experience. First and foremost, the lack of support provided by the Student Beans team was truly disheartening. Furthermore, despite my efforts to create an appealing offer, the results were far from satisfactory. According to the app's analytics, less than five people visited my offer during the entire campaign. This dismal outcome not only raises questions about the app's user base and reach but also its ability to deliver meaningful results for businesses like mine. It's disheartening to invest time and resources into a platform that fails to deliver the promised exposure. The lackluster performance of the Student Beans app in terms of driving traffic and conversions is concerning, especially considering the reputation it has built as a platform catering specifically to students. The minimal number of visitors to my offer suggests that the app's user base may not be as active or engaged as advertised, ultimately undermining the value of using the app for promotional purposes. In conclusion, my experience with the Student Beans app was deeply disappointing. The lack of support, poor results, and overall ineffectiveness of the platform left me frustrated and questioning its value for businesses seeking to target the student demographic. I would strongly advise caution before investing time and resources into this app, as it may not deliver the expected outcomes. Given the issues I encountered, I cannot recommend the Student Beans app for businesses looking to promote their offers to students.

Using app

2 months

Total reviews

1

Average rating

1.0

Developer Reply

Thank you for sharing your feedback and I'm so sorry that your experience of our Shopify app didn't meet your expectations. We reached out to you as soon as we received this review to try and dig a little deeper into your frustrations and are still keen to resolve these for you. The Student Beans Shopify app is a discount management tool used to increase conversions with your Gen Z audience. We have many features to support brands who have recently launched their student programme including options to add a banner on your website homepage, a button on your checkout and our new feature our floating button. I'd love to get on a call with you to discuss how we can increase the exposure of your student offer to your audience. We pride ourselves on the support we offer our brand partners it is disappointing to hear this didn't meet your expectations. I will look into where our processes fell down and ensure that these are resolved. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and we really hope to speak to you soon.

5 / 5 Share

April 20, 2023

SEEMLESS sign up. thanks all, appreciate it. Glad to work with everyone throughout the chain, get the proposition. Looking forward to the sales

Using app

3 months

Total reviews

14

Average rating

5.0

Developer Reply

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We truly appreciate your kind words and feedback. It’s fantastic to hear that you had a positive experience with us. We strive to provide excellent service, and your satisfaction is our ultimate goal. If you have any further comments or suggestions, please feel free to share them.

All reviews

Sign up to receive AppNavigator updates

Find out when we add keyword-monitoring, review RSS feeds and more