ClearSale Fraud Protection for Shopify

ClearSale Fraud Protection

Your Complete E-Commerce Fraud Protection Solution

Developer

Rating

4.1

feedback

56

Reviews

chart

#11,836

Shopify

Reviews Over Time

App Ranking

Time spent using app

  • Less than an hour
    0%
  • Less than a day
    0%
  • Less than a month
    7%
  • Less than a year
    64%
  • More than a year
    27%

Reviews Summary

ClearSale has received mixed reviews from users. Positive aspects include the app's effectiveness in reducing fraud, providing peace of mind, and offering good customer service. Users appreciate the ease of use, quick setup, and responsive support team. However, negative feedback revolves around issues with chargeback reimbursements, communication challenges, technical issues with the dashboard, and delays in refunds. Some users have expressed dissatisfaction with the handling of high-risk orders and the lack of detailed explanations for declined claims. Despite these challenges, ClearSale has been praised for saving businesses from fraud and chargebacks, with many users recommending the app for its fraud protection capabilities.

Highlights

Mixed reviews
Effectiveness in reducing fraud
Ease of use and quick setup
Communication challenges
Issues with chargeback reimbursements

Rating Breakdown

  • 5
    93% (52 ratings)
  • 4
    0% (0 ratings)
  • 3
    0% (0 ratings)
  • 2
    2% (1 ratings)
  • 1
    5% (3 ratings)
Review RSS Feed Review RSS Feed

All reviews

5 / 5 Share

May 17, 2024

Excellent app! I highly recommend it for anyone running an online store. The system is easy to install and the customer support is fantastic, making it ideal for selling products with confidence.

Using app

--

Total reviews

7

Average rating

5.0

2 / 5 Share

April 29, 2024

We signed up with ClearSale in March of 2022. We have paid their monthly service fee for over two years. In Jan. of this year (2024) we had our first chargeback of $137. ClearSale approved the transaction, so we thought we were covered. We submitted the requested documentation for chargeback reimbursement. When submitting a chargeback their client portal states a response will be provided "within hours or up to 7 days." We didn't receive a response or update for 16 days and when we did, our chargeback claim was denied with no explanation provided. We asked several times for an explanation and the only answer provided was, not all necessary information was submitted correctly. Ultimately, Clearsale offered to stand behind their 100% chargeback guarantee, however the story does not end there. We sent no less than a dozen emails asking about our reimbursement. We have been given many excuses as to why the chargeback has not been refunded. Typically, their email will state "reimbursement will be issued in the next payment cycle" and when the next payment cycle comes around there will be another excuse. After three months we finally received our refund however we have lost confidence in ClearSale and can no longer continue with their service.

Using app

About 2 years

Total reviews

2

Average rating

3.5

Developer Reply

Hi team, Thank you for being partnered with us and for providing this feedback. Your concern has been escalated and we'll have someone on our team reach out to you ASAP directly regarding this. Faye

1 / 5 Share

April 22, 2024

Our experience with ClearSale began positively with a smooth onboarding and setup process, and we were optimistic about the partnership to effectively manage our risk exposure. However, the journey presented significant challenges. The increase in chargeback rates, which reached nearly 5% against an expectation to remain below 1%, substantially impacted our financial health and customer trust. This necessitated our intervention to manually decline transactions flagged as "High Risk" by Shopify, despite ClearSale's approvals. Further complicating matters, the integration with ClearSale contributed to the loss of access to the Shopify Shop sales channel, which was a crucial and growing source of revenue for our company. We also experienced persistent technical issues with the ClearSale dashboard, including incorrect reporting of transaction values and difficulties in securely maintaining bank information for chargeback refunds. Communication challenges added to the frustration. In nearly every case, we had to initiate multiple follow-ups to understand the reasons behind declined chargeback claims, which were typically reversed only after an email exchange with no new information outside of our initial claim. Additionally, ongoing delays and the failure to receive over $25,000 in approved reimbursements have underscored profound inefficiencies and inconsistencies within ClearSale's decision-making processes. This situation has been further complicated by inconsistent resolutions from different internal agents, leading to repeated flip-flopping on decisions regarding our reimbursements. We are still awaiting payment on approved chargeback refunds dating back to 11/30/2023. These cumulative issues have not only disrupted our operations but have also led to irreparable harm to our business's growth and reputation. Consequently, we have made the decision to terminate our contract with ClearSale and seek alternative solutions for our risk management needs. We cannot recommend ClearSale if your industry is prone to high levels of fraud, your business maintains a relatively high average order value (AOV), or if your operations cannot afford the cashflow risk of delayed chargeback refunds.

Store

LOZURI

Using app

9 months

Total reviews

8

Average rating

4.5

Developer Reply

Hi Lozuri team, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We value your partnership and want to assure you that we're committed to your success with ClearSale. We've escalated your concerns to our Head of Client Success, and the team is actively working on a resolution. We'll be in touch soon with an update on the progress. ~Faye

5 / 5 Share

Nov. 6, 2023

Gracias a que instalamos ClearSale en supernaturista.com logramos apagar un incendio de contracargos y pedidos fraudulentos que teníamos. Nuestra tasa de fraude ha bajado considerablemente y adicional a eso, el servicio personalizado que ofrecen es muy bueno. Trabajan de la mano para la implementación, capacitación, etc...

Using app

About 2 months

Total reviews

1

Average rating

5.0

Developer Reply

7 meses y contando, vamos juntos al vender más, sin riesgo de contracargos, gracias por su preferencia. ~Carlos

5 / 5 Share

April 3, 2023

It is not an exaggeration to say that ClearSale has saved my business. After a string of chargebacks due to fraud my company took some heavy hits, but ClearSale followed through with their side of our agreement and fixed the situation. I 100% recommend their service and will be a life-long customer. Not to mention Luisa and team have excellent customer service. 10/10 would have a beer with them.

Using app

6 months

Total reviews

4

Average rating

5.0

Developer Reply

It has been a pleasure to work with you and thank you for your kind words! ~Luisa

All reviews

Sign up to receive AppNavigator updates

Find out when we add keyword-monitoring, review RSS feeds and more