Shogun ‑ Landing Page Builder for Shopify

Shogun ‑ Landing Page Builder

Shogun - Advanced landing page building, A/B testing & CRO

Rating

4.7

feedback

3,282

Reviews

chart

#216

Shopify

Reviews Over Time

App Ranking

Time spent using app

  • Less than an hour
    1%
  • Less than a day
    1%
  • Less than a month
    9%
  • Less than a year
    47%
  • More than a year
    41%

Reviews Summary

The reviews for the Shopify App are mixed, with both positive and negative feedback from users. Positive aspects highlighted include excellent customer support, quick responses from the support team, ease of use for non-programmers, and the ability to create stunning pages. Users appreciate the helpful and knowledgeable support team members like James, Sweetan, Rhys, Justine, and Leah who have assisted them promptly and effectively. On the other hand, negative feedback revolves around issues such as unexpected high charges, changes in pricing and features, difficulties with the app's functionality, and dissatisfaction with the value for the price paid. Some users have expressed concerns about the app becoming more expensive and the need to upgrade to higher-priced plans.

Highlights

Excellent customer support and quick responses
Ease of use for non-programmers
High charges and pricing changes
Dissatisfaction with app's functionality
Value for the price paid

Rating Breakdown

  • 5
    90% (2,954 ratings)
  • 4
    6% (205 ratings)
  • 3
    1% (29 ratings)
  • 2
    1% (21 ratings)
  • 1
    2% (72 ratings)
Review RSS Feed Review RSS Feed

All reviews

1 / 5 Share

March 21, 2024

Unexpected HUGE charge Trying this app is not advised… I was shocked to see that I was automatically charged almost $400 (with taxes) after trying this for a day. My $1 / month trial Shopify account just set me up to get taken advantage of. If I automatically was charged $39 like it shows is the price then I would understand but this is 10x that. I only used for a few hours and didn’t find Shogun to be intuitive unfortunately.

Store

My Store

Using app

--

Developer Reply

---Update - April 5, 2024--- Hi there, Jay, I appreciate you writing back, however, it looks like we have not heard back from you again. Could you check the email and reply back with the store details so that we can assist you further? Thanks. --------------------------------------- Hi there, Thanks for sharing your feedback here. I am not able to locate your account or a support conversation about the same as the store name- My Store seems to be very generic. However, I would like to let you know that app charges or subscription charges work based on billing cycles in Shopify. We offer 10 days of free trial and if the app is not required we recommend uninstalling the app before the trial period is over. If the app is not uninstalled, the recurring subscription starts automatically, that is how subscriptions work. I see you suggested you tried the app for a day, but if the app was not uninstalled before the free cutoff period, you will be charged which is expected behavior. And, you will be charged based on the plan you selected while you uninstalled and started the trial. If you reached out to our support team about this previously, could you reply back to us on that thread? Having said that, as I am not able to locate your store details I wanted to check if you can reach out to our support team at [email protected]? Our support team will be happy to analyze the account and share further information to clear any doubts or misunderstandings here. And, we'll be happy to help with the charge. We'll look forward to hearing back from you soon. Thanks for your understanding. Sweetan | Client Services Shogun

1 / 5 Share

March 19, 2024

Once you use Shogun you're locked in. They have repeatedly changed features and changed their pricing which results in broken pages, missing features that we once had, and difficulties site wide. Customer support is slow to respond. You guys suck.

Store

EVELO

Using app

--

Total reviews

7

Average rating

4.4

Developer Reply

Hi there! Thanks for leaving your feedback with us. While we change our plans' pricing and add new features, necessitating shuffling features to different plans, we never take features off of users, nor do we force you onto new plans. Once the app is persistently installed, you've always got to keep the feature set you are familiar with. Pages, therefore, will not spontaneously break. As I understand, the features that were missing were found to be still available, only slightly moved in the UI with the editor design refresh. Customer support is available 24/7 through email, where we aim to respond to every email within 24 hours, and live chat, where we can be reached most hours within a couple of minutes. I know we were chatting recently about this, and if you have any specific queries not addressed in our more recent interaction, please reply to that same thread or reach out to our team, and we'd be more than happy to assist you. James | Client Services Shogun

3 / 5 Share

Feb. 27, 2024

So throughout time Shopify has improved their landing page/theme configurator quite a bit to where add ons like this aren't necessarily needed anymore to build a terrific-looking ecommerce site. That said, Shogun is still, by far, the quickest and easiest way to drag-and-drop your way to a beautiful website. It appears that, with Shopify having a better theme editor, they are focusing more on allowing multivariate (A/B) testing for conversion rate optimization, SEO, etc. If they had a 'lite' version that was $20 a month for those of us who like to do a quick-and-dirty change, that'd be well worth it. But the reason for the 3-stars is simply one problem: value. For small businesses who need to tightly control their costs there has to be a lot of value for almost $70/month. By the time one were to spend $2k/month for Shopify Plus, there are a better range of alternatives (like optimizely) for landing page optimization, so I'm not sure that the product fits on the upper end of the price scale. I'm uninstalling it for now and will keep an eye out for the Dev to have the stripped down page building function as a standalone and I'd be re-subscribing if it's affordable. But as-is, it's not.

Using app

--

Total reviews

1

Average rating

3.0

Developer Reply

Hi there, Jason. Thanks for taking the time to test Shogun and also leaving this feedback. We greatly appreciate this as we value your feedback. We are glad to hear that you recognize Shogun to be the quickest and easiest way to drag and drop your way to create beautiful designs. Thanks. We were a “page builder” for a long time; however, we’ve expanded our offering to include core optimization features, including AB Testing, Targeted Experiences (personalize content to audience), SEO tools for keyword discovery, AI-assisted blog generation, and page performance monitoring. While the entry plan pricing has increased, we’ve also added features, including our AI page designer, AI text generation features, and grid-based editing. The page limit has also been increased on our entry plan to 35 pages and we have removed page limits for any plan higher than the new Build plan. We have removed the user seat limits which means there are unlimited seats and there are unlimited theme sections as well on all the plans to offer more value. As I suggested, we sincerely appreciate your feedback and understand your perspective. I am also happy to share the same with the team. Candidly, if you’re looking solely for a “page build” function, we may not be the best-fit solution as we've expanded our focus beyond that to provide a suite of tools. However, if you're looking to optimize your storefront and set yourself up for success, Shogun is the answer. We'll be happy to work on your feedback and we'll look forward to serving you again in the future. Thanks for trying Shogun. Sweetan | Client Services Shogun

5 / 5 Share

Feb. 27, 2024

Top class support from James and Sweetan, highly recommended

Using app

--

Total reviews

4

Average rating

5.0

Developer Reply

Hi there, James. Thanks for sharing your feedback and leaving us a review. We are super glad to hear about your experience with Shogun and our support. It was great to communicate with you and I will be happy to share the kind works with James as well. Thanks for the honest recommendation. Please let us know if there is anything else we can assist you with in the future. 😊 Sweetan | Client Services Shogun

5 / 5 Share

Feb. 26, 2024

Best

Store

FASHIO

Using app

--

Total reviews

1

Average rating

5.0

Developer Reply

Hi there, Thank you so much for sharing the feedback in the form of this review. We greatly appreciate your love and support. 😊 Sweetan | Client Services Shogun

All reviews

Sign up to receive AppNavigator updates

Find out when we add keyword-monitoring, review RSS feeds and more