
Route Protection and Tracking
Shipping Insurance & Immersive Order Tracking | Route App
Rating
3.8
feedback
423
chart
#1,383
All reviews
Rating Breakdown
March 14, 2025
This app sucks, they don't help merchants, promise you the world so you sign up and leave you hanging at the first technicality. Use NAVIDUIM Its cheap and you keep the money that customers pay for the damages and you can use the funds to PROPERLY TAKE CARE OF YOUR CUSTOMERS!!
March 10, 2025
Just not a good app. shipping insurance is already hard enough to deal with as is and adding a secondary party who now doesnt even accept a phone call does not help things. Save your customers money and avoid this app
Feb. 28, 2025
TERRIBLE Company-uninstalled Route after 4 months. Very bad experience for your customers- plus we have not received 2 payments from Route. Don't recommend as a consumer or as a website operator. Your customers will have a very bad experience! LOOK at the Better Business Bureau Reviews- 9 PAGES OF COMPLAINTS! I wish I had thought to look at the BBB first. Plus we have NOT BEEN PAID YET BY ROUTE! As a website we began using Route mid 2024. Many of our wonderful shoppers pay extra to have their packages "protected." However less than 1% actually need it and when they do Route makes them provide their Drivers License or ID and to add insult to injury they then ask them to do it AGAIN to have their claim notarized. YES you need to go to a live person and show them your ID as well! What a waste of time and energy and lack of data privacy for a $30 claim! I feel badly for anyone who has to make a claim. We heard so many bad reviews from our customers that we used Route personally several times and then, when our package was missing, we filed a claim. Oh my, it was worse than customers told us. Such a ridiculous interface and so much to do. They don't track your package and find it. They don't even try and interface with the place you purchased. Instead they have you- the customer who paid for their service, email them, take photos of ID, download your ID, write a narrative as to why you don't have it and then you have to RAISE YOUR RIGHT HAND and SWEAR that you don't have the package that has been lost!! So humiliating. I feel so bad for any customer who actually has to use the Route service. We agree with Global Formula's review, "They steal your customers money" RUN! And as website, they keep our money for 90 to 120 days. They keep 75% of the charge and claim they pay 25% to the retailer, but we have not seen a dime yet. They hire an insurance company--and guess what- insurance companies are in business to make money. SEG and Lloyds of London insure them. Beware of using Route.
Jan. 20, 2025
I do not recommend this application for the Shopify store, no competent customer service, no contact with technical support, the application does not work, they charge fees, but they are unable to provide service. You have to wait weeks for someone to respond, unfortunately, do not delude yourself, because they will not help you.
Jan. 5, 2025
I contacted Route customer support on December 20th regarding a missing reimbursement for an order they gave to a customer (from my funds) for an order back in September. They did not respond after several emails and contact through the Shopify app. Finally on December 26th they responded. Once I finally had someone respond I let them know that on that order the customer had also filed a chargeback for the Route insurance, in which I had previously contacted Shopify customer service about. The customer's bank sided with the customer. Shopify charged me the chargeback fee, even thought I didn't have the customer's Route insurance fee -- Route does. The chargeback should have been with Route. It is now January 5th. Route customer insurance keeps telling me to be patient that they are waiting on their billing department. I have followed up eleven times and asked for a supervisor four times. Route keeps telling me to be patient. They will NOT connect me with a supervisor. 1. Customer's Chargeback on order #***** Shopify charged me for both Route’s insurance fee (which was refunded to the customer) and the chargeback fee. The chargeback should have been handled by Route, not me. 2. Missing Reimbursement from Route: The main issue with Route is their failure to reimburse me for the amount refunded to the customer for the same order (#*****) due to an insurance claim through Route by the customer. This refund came out of my funds in September, yet Route has not returned the money to me. To summarize, there are two separate concerns for the same order #*****: The missing reimbursement from Route for the refund they issued to the customer. The Shopify chargeback for Route’s insurance fee and the associated chargeback fee for the same order. This insurance app is NOT recommended. Instead from an in-house insurance app to use on your store.
Jan. 3, 2025
Absolutely TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Save yourself the complete and utter terrible experience these people are only in it to STEAL YOUR CUSTOMERS MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They take FOREVER to file claims and piss your customers off ultimately. I tried to give them a chance after a year or two having this app, I am giving up and taking my business elsewhere. A customer had a package leave our warehouse 3 weeks ago but still have tracking updates that we recent and inside their 6-7 day window. We went ahead and ate the replacement cost just to not get them mad. Route is USELESS!!!! Not only that but you will have to end up filing the customers claims for them, because lets face it, its "too hard". I have to wait days and days for anyone in customer service to get back to me and no one is ever on chat. They have been going way downhill ever since they took away dedicated account reps away and just used the chat. Now we are leaving and I already am getting something else set up. BYE!!!!!!!!!!!!
Dec. 17, 2024
The customer service is one of the worst I have ever seen. I have been trying to get help for over 2 months on a simple problem. I heard from a customer they couldn't checkout in mobile becasue the checkout button was not display. I figured it out, reported it to Route and 2 1/2 months later they have done nothing to help and every time I ask what is going on they say something like: "our engineering team will be glad to work on this as soon as resources are freed to do so. We'll let you know as soon as we have an update on this issue" And they never provide an update. Do yourself a favor and find another solution.
Dec. 16, 2024
Waste of time. Talked to Ryan at Route he offered a very low rate (vs competitors). I didn't know at the time the rate could be higher. I signed up and never got any payment from them. They said because I didn't sign some paperwork yet they were able to take payments just not able to pay me. So I canceled them and went with Redo sure enough they came back and said they would fix the mistake (pay what they owe me, pay the higher rate) and NEVER did. But they continued to deduct from our customers. Emailed for follow ups gave them weeks to get this resolved and they ignored my emails.
Oct. 23, 2024
They earned over $12,000 from our customers while paying out $648, what a scam. They take well over 24 hours to answer an email and then it is with a question. They know its only a matter of time before store owners will dump this scam of an app. My manager installed I never would have.
Hi there, We’re disappointed to hear about your experience, and we want to make things right. A member of our team will reach out to you directly to find a solution. Best, Skylar, Customer Success
June 13, 2024
Save your money and use shipping insurance through Shopify. At least for our store I found there's little value that Route provides, especially for the pricing. 2-3 months of having Route installed ended up costing us over $560 for a single claim filed. Additionally they are very unclear on their pricing structure
Hi there, We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience. Your experience is important to us, and we want to make things right. A member of our team will reach out to you directly to work on a solution. Best, Skylar, Customer Success
May 30, 2024
Big sales push up front promising all your problems will be resolved without any of it backed up by reality once in use. Removing from our Shopify page after a year of use and zero customers actually being helped by it. They just want to use your small business store to skim money for themselves. For example, they will allow your customers to (unintentionally/accidentally) purchase Route protection on an in-store pick up order. They offered no remedy to this issue and don't really care. It's up to you to claw back the money.
Hi there, We’re disappointed to hear about your experience, and we want to make things right. A member of our team will reach out to you directly to find a solution. Best, Skylar, Customer Success Show less
Feb. 20, 2024
Run away! This company takes your money and doesn’t refund it. As a small business owner, I am telling you to avoid the headache of dealing with these individuals, we already have enough on our plate.
Hi there, We’re disappointed to hear about your experience, and we want to make things right. A member of our team will reach out to you directly to find a solution. Best, Skylar, Customer Success
Feb. 9, 2024
Worst customer service, I don’t recommend i am moving to other company. They don’t help and neither provide support. Just waste your time and money when you needed customer support
Hi there, We’re disappointed to hear about your experience, and we want to make things right. A member of our team will reach out to you directly to find a solution. Best, Skylar, Customer Success
Nov. 16, 2023
I like this product / service BUT we've had an issue with ROUTE line items not auto fulfilling anymore, and it's been 2 months and multiple emails to continue to ask them to fix it. And still nothing. We're having to manually fulfil orders with ROUTE everyday. It's ridiculous. We'll be switching!
Hi there, We sincerely apologize for any issues you may have experienced with Route. Our top priority is to assist directly with any shortcomings and ensure that any issues are rectified. A member of our team will be contacting you shortly to discuss how we can address and resolve this issue. All the best, Skylar, Customer Service
Nov. 13, 2023
We were charged for route automatically when we wanted it as an option for customers to pay. Now we owe almost $180 because we could not get an associate to approve our request to change this? Complete BS and we are dropping route immediately.
Hi there, We sincerely apologize for any issues you may have experienced with Route. Our number one priority is to assist directly with any shortcomings and ensure that any issues are resolved. A member of our team has contacted you to discuss how we can address and resolve this issue. All the best, Skylar, Customer Service
Nov. 12, 2023
Customer service is unresponsive and promises a 2-5 day wait for fee installations, but delays extend beyond 2 weeks. The chat option is manned by a bot, not a person, leading to prolonged response times via email. Ultimately unhelpful, I uninstalled the app and suggest exploring alternatives. As a business owner, this level of customer service is unacceptable.
Hi there, We sincerely apologize for any issues you may have experienced with Route. Our top priority is to assist directly with any shortcomings and ensure that any issues are rectified. A member of our team will be contacting you within the next 1-2 business days to discuss how we can address and resolve this issue. All the best, Skylar, Customer Service
Oct. 30, 2023
I’ve been using this app for my customers both United States and Jamaica and it was not until 3 days ago they blocked my check out button from my Jamaican customers. Why would you put a coding into my theme that made it difficult for some of my customers to check out? And the proof is there so this is not made up!
Hi there, we sincerely apologize for any issues you may have experienced with Route. Our number one priority is to assist directly with any shortcomings and ensure that any issues are rectified. A member of our team will be contacting you within the next 1-2 business days to discuss how we can address and resolve this issue. If you have any further questions or concerns, we encourage you to reach out at any time through our Help Center or live chat via your merchant dashboard: https://route.com/help-center. All the best, Skylar, Customer Support
Sept. 16, 2023
Aggressive sales rep. Poor customer service. Wouldn't refund $20 over an inadequately explained feature when I already had my own insurance plan. Do not recommend this company.
Hi there, we apologize for the unfortunate experience you had. Our top priority is to assist directly with any shortcomings and ensure that any issues are rectified. We will be contacting you within the next 1-2 business days to discuss how we can address and resolve this issue. If you have any further requirements, we encourage you to reach out at any time through our Help Center or live chat via your merchant dashboard: https://route.com/help-center. All the best, Skylar, Customer Support
Aug. 30, 2023
We lost thousands of dollars of revenue because the Route app script somehow converted our subscription products into one-time purchases. Therefore, the subscriptions never renewed, and those sales were lost. This didn't come to our attention until we noticed that recurring sales were significantly down after a couple of months. Beyond that, we were told that they would investigate the issue, but we didn't hear back for two weeks, and only then because I reached out again to see if they had un update for us. I would certainly avoid this app!
Hi there, we're so sorry to hear about any negative experience you had. Our utmost priority is to assist directly with any errors and make things right for you. We will be contacting you within the next 24-48 hours to discuss how we can rectify and resolve the issue. If you have any further questions or concerns at this time, please feel free to reach out at any time through our Help Center or live chat: https://route.com/help-center. All the best, Skylar, Customer Support
July 28, 2023
I had to uninstall this app. It feels scammy. They would not credit me for purchases that were cancelled. There is no way to reconcile the charges. The customer service is non-existent. Stay away.
Hi there, we deeply apologize for any negative experience you had. Our number one priority is to assist directly with any issues and make things right for you. We will be contacting you within the next 24-48 hours to discuss how we can address and resolve any charges that need to be reconciled. If you have any further requirements, please feel free to reach out at any time through our Help Center or live chat: https://route.com/help-center. All the best, Skylar, Customer Support